About Us


Camerata Singers was established in 2010 and has continued to grow artistically since that time.

Originally conceived as a self-directing ensemble, Camerata has evolved into an auditioned chamber choir directed by Jim Klein. The singers in Camerata are all trained musicians, all of whom sing in other performing ensembles in and around Prescott, AZ. While Camerata focuses primarily on classical repertoire, the group’s musical flexibility enables it to present contemporary works, vocal jazz, spirituals and lighter fare as well.

James Klein, Music Director

Jim holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Choral Music and Piano Performance from Augustana College in Sioux Falls, SD, and a Master of Arts degree in Music Education from the University of Iowa. He taught secondary school choral music in Iowa for seven years and was the Director of Music at American Lutheran Church in Huron, SD from 1978 – 1990.

From 1990-2016 Jim served as full-time Minister of Music at American Lutheran Church in Prescott where he directed 15 choirs, handbell choirs and instrumental ensembles. He directed the Yavapai College Master Chorale from 1993-2007, leading the Chorale on three international tours to Austria, Hungary, and the Czech Republic in 1998, Italy in 2002, and Scandinavia in 2007.

He retired from full-time music ministry in 2016. He and his wife, Eileen, who served with him as organist in his church positions are now both retired and enjoying singing in the Prescott Chorale. Just this year, Jim has assumed the position of Artistic Director for the Prescott Chorale Camareta Singers. He is also busy as an accompanist to area singers and small ensembles. JIm presently directs the St. Luke’s Episcopal Handbell Choir. They have two grown children, Eric and Julie, and two “granddogs”, Ripley and Bill & Ted (one dog).


Our Singers

Sopranos: Sue Boyce, Eileen Klein, Pat McCarver, Diane Thornbrugh
Altos: Helen Isdal, Helen McDowell, Anne Riggen, Lynda Rountree
Tenors: Meredith Hughes, Jim McCarver, Russ Parker, Katie Staudt
Basses: Sandy Johnson, Larry McCoy, Bruce Mounsey, John Thompson


* indicates required